Alberta Seed Processors announce 2020 Seed Smart Scholarship winners

The Alberta Seed Processors board of directors are pleased to announce their third-annual winners of the Seed Smart scholarship fund designed to recognize outstanding young leaders in the agricultural world.

Kateri Blair, 20, (Lethbridge College) and Kallum McDonald, 19, (University of Alberta) are the recipients of this year’s $1,000 awards. This scholarship is awarded annually to deserving applicants enrolled in a full-time, agriculture-related program at an accredited post-secondary institution in Canada – with preference given to those studying in Alberta.

“On behalf of the Association, I want to thank everyone who applied for this year’s Seed Smart scholarship,” said Hector Ouellette, Alberta Seed Processors’ president. “This year’s winners had very impressive submissions and we are very happy to recognize some future leaders in agriculture.”

The Alberta Seed Processors are a network of seed and grain processing professionals focused on providing Alberta farmers, seed growers, and the agriculture industry with value-added services to support the growth of the local and global agriculture economy. The Association would like to congratulate both Blair and McDonald on their outstanding applications and their bright futures in the agricultural industry.

“I would like to thank the Alberta Seed Processors board of directors for selecting me for this scholarship,” said Blair. “It will help me accomplish my goals in getting a meaningful career in agriculture.”

“I was delighted to hear that I received the scholarship and am grateful to the Alberta Seed Processors,” added McDonald. “This scholarship will be key to helping me to pursue further education in crop innovation and to support farmers.”

The deadline for next year’s award is October 15, 2020. The application form and further instructions for potential candidates will be available in the coming months at