Alberta Seed Processors announce 2019 Seed Smart Scholarship winners

The Alberta Seed Processors board of directors are pleased to announce their second-annual winners of the Seed Smart scholarship fund designed to recognize outstanding young leaders in the agricultural world.

Kayl Kirchner, 20, (Lakeland College) and Cassandra Klaas, 19, (University of Lethbridge) are the recipients of this year’s $1,000 awards. This scholarship is awarded annually to deserving applicants enrolled in a full-time, agriculture-related program at an accredited post-secondary institution in Canada – with preference given to those studying in Alberta.

“We had so many qualified applicants this year, and Kayl and Cassandra’s were particularly impressive,” said Hector Ouellette, Alberta Seed Processors’ president. “Both of these students have bright futures and it is an honour for our Association to give them a little extra help along the way.”

The Alberta Seed Processors are a network of seed and grain processing professionals focused on providing Alberta farmers, seed growers, and the agriculture industry with value-added services to support the growth of the local and global agriculture economy. The Association would like to congratulate both Kirchner and Klaas on their outstanding applications and their bright futures in the agricultural industry.

“I was very excited to receive this news,” said Kirchner. “This award will help me pursue my schooling in agribusiness and I am very grateful for it.”

“I would like to thank the Alberta Seed Processors’ board of directors for this scholarship,” added Klaas. “It is a valuable contribution towards my studies in Ag. Biotech and will help me shape the future of Canada agriculture.”

The deadline for this year’s award is October 15, 2019. The application form and further instructions for potential candidates will be available in the coming months at